libpayload: head.S: Avoid clearing BSS (and heap) again master
authorJulius Werner <jwerner@chromium.org>
Sat, 6 Aug 2016 04:27:47 +0000 (21:27 -0700)
committerAaron Durbin <adurbin@chromium.org>
Sat, 13 Aug 2016 00:46:19 +0000 (02:46 +0200)
commit1143d08f7e0a5c203312f054a08301445cafdec8
tree469ada8209572fb7442e03341dc7b47ca9686bb0
parent55ffccfbaea62c4c8e5a69c8956441758d657eb1
libpayload: head.S: Avoid clearing BSS (and heap) again

3 out of 4 architectures currently zero out the payload BSS in early
assembly code, which is pointless since the code loading the payload has
already done that (with a more efficient memset). ARM64 has never had
any code like this and can run just fine without it. This also defeats
the new optimization of moving the heap out of the BSS, since all three
implementations assume that everything between _edata and _end is BSS.
We should just take this out.

Change-Id: I45cd2dabd94da43ff0f77e990f11c877cee6cda1
Signed-off-by: Julius Werner <jwerner@chromium.org>
Reviewed-on: https://review.coreboot.org/16091
Tested-by: build bot (Jenkins)
Reviewed-by: Aaron Durbin <adurbin@chromium.org>
Reviewed-by: Stefan Reinauer <stefan.reinauer@coreboot.org>
payloads/libpayload/arch/arm/head.S
payloads/libpayload/arch/mips/head.S
payloads/libpayload/arch/x86/head.S