image_signing: use sparse partition extraction [reland]
authorMike Frysinger <vapier@chromium.org>
Thu, 10 Sep 2015 20:18:03 +0000 (16:18 -0400)
committerchrome-bot <chrome-bot@chromium.org>
Tue, 5 Apr 2016 03:05:00 +0000 (20:05 -0700)
commitf482470b72086d5ba672513434f3da5d62599538
tree706357c10141058e69ef30ee15b1025cb41c0f10
parent65f61f90ccae5f0b5f37ea3bdf86735bc58709a0
image_signing: use sparse partition extraction [reland]

Often the partitions we extract have extra space in them, but the dd
utility will still write out the excess zeros.  That can mean we write
out hundreds of megs of data which could otherwise be skipped.  We thus
waste a good amount of I/O and storage.

For now, only use this flag when extracting a partition to a new file
as this should be safe (there's no pre-existing data to clobber/merge).

Now that the signers have been upgraded to Trusty, we can land this.

BUG=chromium:530730
TEST=`./signing_unittests.py` passes
BRANCH=None

Change-Id: I275973ebfc028c15a8d1ef33dd9b3dcf6ca726a2
Reviewed-on: https://chromium-review.googlesource.com/306420
Commit-Ready: Mike Frysinger <vapier@chromium.org>
Tested-by: Mike Frysinger <vapier@chromium.org>
Reviewed-by: Amey Deshpande <ameyd@google.com>
scripts/image_signing/common_minimal.sh